Don’t Let Yo’ Kale Go Stale

I gotta be real here and admit that I’m not sure I had ever eaten kale growing up nor did I know what the mysterious leafy green substance tasted like up until a few years ago. I remember I had baked kale chips for my co-workers around that time because I thought they were a good substitute for the wide array of greasy chips that I found myself attacking at the end of each workday. Crazy me, since I dug their crunchy texture and salty flavor, I thought my co-workers would too. Most everyone, with the exception of one or two people, gawked at the weird texture and thought they were strange. After that, I really didn’t expect to see kale chips in pre-packaged bags at the store just a few years later, but I guess they gained in popularity. They are incredibly easy to cook, so it seems so silly to me to waste money buying them, but I would understand when in a desperate, gotta-have-my-kale-fix-now situation, that one my break down and purchase a bag. There are far more shameful acts. If you’ve never made kale chips here is a super easy recipe for ya’.

IMG_2577

Kale Chips

1 bunch kale

 1 tblsp olive oil

  salt and pepper

Make sure you rinse your kale. I soak mine in a bowl of lukewarm salt water for a few minutes just in case there are any little critters on the leaves (they like kale too!). I rinse it, spin dry, and then tear the leaves off the spine into 3 inch pieces.  Place in a bowl, toss with olive oil, and a dash of salt and pepper.  Spread kale across a cookie sheet and put in oven at 350 for about 12 minutes, turning 2-3 times throughout.  Remove from oven and let cool. Then, throw it in a fancy bowl and watch it disappear within seconds!

Now, when seasonally abundant, we eat kale by the truckloads. Okay, okay, I might be exaggerating slightly there, but we do eat quite a bit of kale. Shhhhhhh, don’t tell your kids or husbands, but Kale is rich in many nutrients and is believed to have cancer-fighting properties. So, there you have it, just one more reason why you shouldn’t let your kale go stale.

Want PESTO? No Need for Basil!

I will be posting throughout the next few days different ways our family has cooked and enjoyed kale.  One of my favorites is Kale pesto………..yummmmmmmm!  I have a seriously strong addiction to, really, any kind of pesto, basil pesto being my absolute favorite, of course. However, until my basil plants come in and it’s more readily available locally, kale will suffice!  Here’s one kale pesto recipe I used (http://en.julskitchen.com/tuscany/black-kale-pesto), but I used pumpkin seeds instead of almonds and a slightly different pasta since that’s what I had available in my kitchen. This was delish, and my little boys loved it!!

IMG_2420

Leave a Reply

