Lasagna: Kale Style

As a mother of two now, boy am I finding a humbling moment everywhere I turn. I used to be slightly OCDish about household cleanliness, but am struggling to keep up among the many other beautiful responsibilities that come along with motherhood. Now, my kitchen isn’t “dirty”, I’m just “desensitizing” myself to a messy kitchen. Oh, can I also rescind my earlier statements about having time to read? Time and I have been battling it up these last few weeks. I could literally stay busy just feeding my two boys and unloading/reloading the dishwasher.  Adding just one more little dude to our family has led to the subsequent doubling of our grocery bill, number of dishwashing cycles and piles of laundry. So strange how that happens? Furthermore, as a result of the continuous processing of language darting at me from two, child-sized mouths – I think I’m developing a new form of motherhood-induced ADD. Do the docs have an official diagnosis for this?  This multiple kid thing is hard work!  With that said, I am all the more grateful for a nutritious recipe that I can throw together, pop in the oven, and make mouths water with little effort. Ahhhhh……yes…..lasagna.  Who doesn’t like lasagna?  And it’s also a great way to sneak your seasonal kale in without getting any complaints from the kiddos.  I used local kale from Dripping Springs Garden (one of my favs at the Farmers’ Market for greens) and local eggs from Little Portions Monastery (in Berryville, AR) along with a little oregano from my herb box. I kind of just threw this one together with what I had available in the kitchen at the time, but here’s what I did, and it turned out great!

IMG_2424

9 Lasagna Noodles

1 bunch kale

1 zucchini thinly sliced

1/2 onion chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

1 jar pasta sauce

8 oz. ricotta cheese

1 egg

1 tbsp italian seasoning

1 cup parmesan cheese

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Dried or Fresh Basil and Oregano

First, rinse and remove kale from the spine and chop coarsely. Blanch for 2 minutes. Then rinse with cold water and let sit to dry in colander. Cook noodles according to package or use noodles that don’t require boiling.

You’re welcome to use whatever veggies you have in the fridge. In my case, I had zucchini and onion, but I’m not biased.  In a skillet at medium, heat your olive oil and add onion, cooking until translucent. Then, add zucchini and cook until tender. Pour pasta sauce (leaving some in jar for the top of lasagna) into pan and let cook for 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat and mix in kale.

To mix cheese sauce, place ricotta cheese, egg, italian seasoning, 3/4 cup parmesan cheese, 1 cup mozzarella, and salt and pepper into mixing bowl. Stir ingredients thoroughly.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Pour a small amount of pasta sauce into bottom of 9 x 13 baking dish. Place 3 pasta noodles on top of sauce, then layer with half of cheese sauce, 1/2 of veggies and kale sauce, and then repeat layer once more. Top third layer with noodles, remaining sauce, mozzarella and parmesan along with a sprinkling of oregano and basil. Cover baking dish with foil and put in oven for 25 minutes. Uncover lasagna and put back in for another 5-10 minutes or until slightly golden around edges. Enjoy another recipe without letting your kale go stale!

2 thoughts on “Lasagna: Kale Style

  1. I have said several times that having 2 kids has given me child-induced ADD. I can’t finish anything I start because I get pulled away by one of the boys and then I forget about it! The laundry is half done, the dishes are a quarter done, the bed is never made, the countertops are covered in crumbs and maybe one is cleaned off, etc. It used to drive me crazy to the point of tears…still does sometimes, but I have learned to accept that I will have this child-induced ADD as long as my boys need me to entertain them and keep them from injuring themselves! And my house will not be clean until they are both in school all day and I have more time alone to clean. Because, I’ve read, that cleaning while your house while your children are awake is like brushing your teeth while eating an Oreo!
    Can’t wait to make this lasagna! Love you.

Leave a Reply

